How to Get Baby to Sleep in His Own Room?

Imagine that you are a baby again. Ever since you were born you had your mommy and daddy by your side; ever since you were born you had those blue walls around you and those white curtains over there and a familiar tick-tack of the wall clock. And then – boom! – out of nowhere, you find yourself in a foreign room; nothing looks familiar, nothing smells familiar – and you are (gasp!) all alone.

That must be scary.

Turning around this predicament in my head while I still waddeld around with that huge belly that later became Timothy, I decided that it will be easier for the baby if I do it all in a completely different way: I decided to move in with my baby boy in his room and stay there for as long as he needed me – and then move back, leaving him in his own, familiar room. That way he need not find himself all alone in a foreign environment.

So when Timothy was born, that’s what I did.

The first 2 or 3 weeks, having had a c-section, getting out of bed was hard. No, scratch that – it was almost impossible. So we got a moses basket and Timothy slept in it in the same bed with me, pushed as far away as possible (so that he won’t be bothered by my milk’s smell while he sleeps). Once I healed, I transferred him to his crib in the opposite corner of the room. He didn’t mind.

When he was a couple of months old, it became obvious that he is a sleeper. He slept fromΒ  evening until 4-6 am, nursed, and then slept some more until morning.

He went to bed around 10:30 pm at the time – and I went to bed later than that. He napped alone anyway. So I started wondering: what’s the point of sharing a room, if I am not there half of the time when he sleeps?

And if he wakes up on;y once during the night, surely that won’t be too hard for my hubby who needs to wake up and go to work in the morning?

We discussed it and decided that if things remain as they are, I will move back to my bedroom when Timothy turns three months old.

On the day Timothy turned three months, I moved out.

Timothy never noticed. He was in his crib, in his room, under his blanket, with his humidifier (aka white noise machine). He never noticed that mommy’s snoring was missing πŸ™‚

So the transition was easy. I won’t even call it a transition.

And me? For the first couple of nights I felt guilty. I kept thinking: hubby and I snuggle here together, companionably, and poor little Timothy is stuck there all alone. But Timothy slept happily, oblivious to my doubts. No one to disturb him by middle-of-the-night washroom breaks; no one to disturb him with snoring. And I can read in bed until late! πŸ™‚

15 thoughts on “How to Get Baby to Sleep in His Own Room?

  1. BleedingTulip

    I’m do glad that worked for you πŸ™‚ I always love hearing people’s positive, success, sleep stories! (And in case the comment alone wasn’t obvious, I love the new website and will continue my lurker ways)

    Reply
  2. legally canadian

    What a great idea to have this blog. Obviously I have a toddler now, but I might need to refer to your blog once I go for a second run.
    greeny-world

    Reply
    1. newtorontomom Post author

      Same thinking here: save it for round 2, and if it helps anyone in the process – even better πŸ™‚

      Reply
  3. babiesandus

    Eek we did it the other way around. Kyra slept in her camp cot in our room and we are planning on moving her over to her room soon. We are starting by putting her down in her room daytime so that she get’s used to the idea. Luckily she loves her room and always play in her room because it is nice and warm during the day unlike our living area. So far so good!

    Reply
  4. theonethatlovesyou

    He is in his own room since we brought him home and yet he needs to nap in my arms during the day, at night he has a night nurse, because the longest time he sleeps in his crib alone is 3hours max, sometimes not even that, because he wakes up if he has a gas or needs to burp or simply wants a cuddle. I guess i dont have a sleeper.

    Reply
    1. newtorontomom Post author

      That must be hard… Good on you for making the night nurse decision! First and foremost, he needs a relaxed and happy mom; I am secretly afraid of having more kids – cause I doubt the next one will sleep like Timothy…

      Reply
    2. newtorontomom Post author

      btw, Timothy used to take naps in my arms, too. It stopped somewhere around 4-4.5 months, I think. Now he cannot sleep in my arms at all – he needs to lay flat and be alone (if he’s in the stroller, I pull a muslin cloth over the canopy to create “loneliness” πŸ™‚

      Reply
      1. theonethatlovesyou

        Well, we are 4months now, so let see how long it will take him. yeah, that is another thing, he hates the stroller 😦 the carrycot doesn’t serve at all anymore. He hates lying flat and finds it hard to fall asleep. He loves the baby carrier facing out, so he can see everything. I think I need to change the stroller to the sport seat and see how that goes.

        Reply
        1. newtorontomom Post author

          Timothy used to sleep flat on his back until recently. Now he prefers sleeping on his side – and isn’t so in love with sleeping in the stroller any longer…

          Reply

Leave a Reply

