Shopping, Suddenly :)

The other day I went to buy some stuff in preparation for the baby shower (after all, not everything can be hand-made :)) and ended up buying lots of stuff for Timothy, quite impulsively. See, I rarely get to shop since we are a one-car household and I do all my grocery shopping here in the main street of our heighbourhood. But there’s no real clothes/toy shopping to speak of here.

So when I got to Wal-Mart, I found myself shopping not only for the shower, but for Timothy as well. Bath time is turning into a more interactive time, and all we got so far is a rubber duck. Dull! So I got him a book:

an interactive toy that attaches to the side of the tub

more rubber toys:

I was also looking to buy a new bib. The ones we had were made of cloth (e.g. in perfect world needed a wash after every meal), were too small (Timothy ended up with food all over his shirt and pants), and either absorbed liquid or let it dribble into Timothy’s lap, wetting his pants. So I got this: you can wipe it and it has a pocket to catch any spills. Awesome!

I don’t seem to be able to get Timothy to even attempt crawling – so I decided that he needs a ball. He used to have a nice soft ball with a towel-like fabric, but he lost it. So I got him this peculiar ball. It still does an okay jump off the ground and it’s very, very easy for a baby to grab. I can’t say Timothy loved it (he still loves his stackable pails more than anything else), but I now attempt to get him into the concept of throwing the ball back at me.

And then I went to Chapters and, as always, had an urge to buy half the store – which I successfully suppressed. Well, almost successfully. I ended up buying a finger-puppet hardboard book “Old MacDonald Had a Farm”. We really love this song, especially since we learned all the animal signs in our Baby Sign Language Classes (I will talk about these in one of my future posts). Timothy LOVED the puppets! He touches them with his index finger πŸ™‚

I also bought him a pair of pacifiers (we lost one in the Dominican), three bowls (with dinosaurs and cars), some baby snacks, a few jars of food for when we are on the go, a few boxes of oat and rice cereal, a box of diapers… Well, you get the picture. I SHOPPED πŸ™‚

9 thoughts on “Shopping, Suddenly :)

  1. Valerie

    We’re a one-car family too, so I know what you mean. I love the bath stuff you got him – so fun! Does he like the Pooh interactive thing? I’ve thought of getting something like that for our 13 month old. Haha, I love that you said Timothy can’t crawl but HE lost a ball you guys had! Lol That was funny, as if he was somehow able to hide it without moving! πŸ˜‰ We have done sign language with Samuel since birth as well! Love it!! We didn’t go to a class; I knew it before he was born, so I’ve been teaching him. I’ve enjoyed reading your blog tonight. Take care πŸ™‚

    Reply
    1. newtorontomom Post author

      I haven’t tried it yet. Timothy is sick and I have this notion that baths aren’t good when you’re sick. That’s what my mom used to tell me when I was little. I have no idea whether it’s true, but for now I only wash his bum. I will report whether he likes it (although he might be a bit young for it, I suspect).
      Thanks for the comments – and the follow πŸ™‚

      Reply
      1. Valerie

        Oh, I am the opposite! A nice, very warm bath clears the head and feels SOOO soothing when sick! But, if you grew up with your mom feeling that way, then you’re bound to feel the same. No harm, no foul! πŸ™‚ I’m sure, even if he isn’t able to do the toy himself, that he’ll enjoy watching you pour water on it, once he feels better.

        Reply
    1. newtorontomom Post author

      My mom used to tell me about my plastic bib with a pocket. Soup would pour into it once I started to self-feed, so I used to eat soup out of there with a spoon, too πŸ™‚

      Reply

Leave a Reply

