Timothy is Nine Months!

So – he’s been on the outside pretty much as long as on the inside. Nine months. Which felt longer? I think pregnancy felt longer. With pregnancy you’re mainly waiting for something to happen and, as we all know, time doesn’t move when we’re waiting for something (unless we’re dreading something awful to happen, of course; then the opposite is true).

As it happens, we saw our pediatrician today. Timothy is 10.25 kilo (about 22.5 pounds). She didn’t measure his height. He’s wearing 12-18 months clothes and even some 18-24. His Halloween 12-18 costume was too tight and too short, for example.

Still only two teeth, still not crawling (although now that I’ve made some changes and created more floorspace for him on the mats, he is attempting to move, but so far can’t figure out what to do with the one leg that remains under his belly when he tries to launch from a sitting position). The doctor said many babies skip the crawling phase altogether. She put him on his feet and proclaimed him very sturdy πŸ™‚

He’s eating chunky foods and basically whatever we eat (I had to cut down on salt big time). I go all in with herbs and onions and other stuff that makes food tasty – and so far he’s loving it. Yesterday it was chicken breast with zucchinis, carrots, onions, bell peppers and thyme. He LOVED it.

He doesn’t like sour stuff: plums, yogurt. He doesn’t like avocado and broccoli. He loves meat and chicken and fish. He’s a real, if little, man!

He drives me NUTS with constantly blowing raspberries, especially during mealtimes. I don’t like being sprayed with food. Ignoring it as a tactic to discourage this behaviour doesn’t work. Now I push his high chair away and stop feeding him for half a minute or so. Let’s see if it produces any results…

He is too dependent right now. He would love nothing better than for me to sit next to him all day long on the floor, building pail towers and pressing buttons with him and helping him stand upright and play. I am trying to encourage him to play on his own, but he’s not too happy about it. I hope he crawls soon (or walks) and will be able to get the toys that roll away from him on his own. Especially now that he sleeps only twice a day, this clingy behaviour doesn’t give me enough space to do stuff.

Enter the cleaning lady. Yay! We hired a cleaning lady. Today was her first day. We gave her the keys and headed off to the doctor’s office. Now I am sitting in a spotless house happy to know that under the bed, behind the couch and on the window sill it’s all clean!

Such a worthwhile investment. It relieved both of us from constant daunting pressure of “we need to wash the three levels worth of floors”. Hallelujah.

Anyway. Happy 9 months, Timothy. You’re a real boy now. Where did my baby go?..

19 thoughts on “Timothy is Nine Months!

    1. newtorontomom Post author

      haha, yeah – I also tried to show him. By both leading by example (crawling around him) and by trying to push his heels and by trying to fold his knees underneath him… Nah, nothing works!

      Reply
  1. BleedingTulip

    Oh my goodness, he’s so big in these pictures!!! My nephew was the same way (being big) he was wearing 2-year-old clothes when he turned 1 year old!

    Food-filled raspberries? I don’t blame you for being upset about that. I hope your new tactic helps him learn to stop the behavior :/ I know the idea of “discipline” is controversial (as in, how old does a child have to be to be able to comprehend that X behavior gets Y treatment? And then if course everyone has a different idea if what discipline should entail… A question I have been pondering with a baby due in 8 weeks!)

    Reply
      1. Valerie

        Hahaha! Too funny. πŸ™‚ Good luck and congrats to you in the coming weeks. I hope they fly by for you with the holidays and all!

        Reply
    1. newtorontomom Post author

      *sigh*
      I know, disciplining feels early and even cruel. At the same time, it’s not like he’s crying because something is bothering him or because he is frustrated he cannot reach a toy: that kind of behaviour is understandable and doesn’t really get on my nerve. But spitting all over me with beets? Urgh…

      Reply
      1. Yuliana

        Ha-ha, Tanya, wait till he is too…but meanwhile, try to say “no” to him when he spiits whetever he spit.Not just “no”, but with some explanation, like “you are spitting on me and I don’t like being dirty.” Still, they like experimenting, otherwise, how does he discover that those raspberries won’t fly back to him?
        Also, don’t worry about him not crawling. I skipped the crawling stage when I was a baby, and then started to walk at the age of 9.5 month. My Timofei is the opposite: he was a late walker because he is tall, lean and flexible. The ped warned us about it at the time when Timofei was 2 month

        Reply
  2. Valerie

    Happy 9 months, Timothy! What a big guy!! As you know, my older son, Joshua was big (like you said, 20 lbs at 6 months) and he didn’t crawl until 11 months because he was so dang heavy! But then, he still walked at 12 months, so you never know! Samuel crawled at 10 months and walked a week before his birthday. My daughter was crawling around trying to “show” him too! Lol Not me! I knew how much more work there’d be once he started! Haha No, I loved when he learned to crawl and then walk. SO neat!! (Btw, did the doctor say she figures it was just a cold the other night?)

    Reply
    1. newtorontomom Post author

      Yes, his pediatrician mentioned before that he hates tummy time because he’s so heavy! He was able to lift his head the day he was born – but he didn’t like doing that at all!

      Yes, the doctor checked ears-throat-nose-lungs and all is well, looks like it’s just a cold and he was miserable with the running nose. Thank you for asking πŸ™‚

      Reply
  3. Mrs FF

    9 months already. Time flies when you are having fun.

    Be careful what you wish for πŸ™‚ All my friends who have crawling babies sometimes just want the babies to sit still πŸ˜‰

    I am sure he will surprise you one day, maybe he will be one of those babies who skip crawling and just start walking

    Reply
    1. newtorontomom Post author

      This very well might be the case.
      Yes, I know – everyone tells me how easy it is, I can go to the washroom and leave the baby on the floor with no worries. But I still want him to move :))

      Reply

Leave a Reply

