Happy to Be Me. Again, That Is.

When I was almost 9 months preggo, my friend told me that I shouldn’t expect to lose weight immediately: it took me 9 months to gain it, so why should I expect to lose it faster? (In my defense, I didn’t expect it to disappear immediately, of course – but she felt she needed to prep me, regardless :))

Timothy is 9 months now. I knew that I lost pretty much all of the weight when a couple of weeks ago I decided to put away all summer clothes and get out the winter ones. I tried all of those jeans that have been stashed away on the top shelf since spring 2011, when I got preggo. And all but one fit! All the skinnies, everything!

Elation.

Today I was surprised, though, when I stepped on the scale: I actually weigh less than I did before I got preggo. About 3 pounds less. I am not sure how this happened. Perhaps the getting violently sick in the Caribbean played a role? I don’t know. That was three weeks ago. I am eating well – and, as always, indulging myself in desserts. And sugared coffees.

Anyway. I am one happy momma! Cause when I look at these pics of my pregnancy – especially the lost two – I shudder. And I don’t have the 40 weeks shot, it stops at 38! Just how big was I???

(For those of you not in the know, Timothy was almost 10 pounds at birth: 4.5 kilo or 9 pounds 15 ounces!!! My total weight gain was only 14 kilo, though – ummm… about 30 pounds? Timothy was a third of all of the weight I gained! hence the HUGE bump)

Hmm. Now I am thinking I need a shot of myself as of today. You can trust me, though, that it’s pretty identical to the one at 6 weeks 🙂

4 thoughts on “Happy to Be Me. Again, That Is.

  1. Dida Sundet

    Ah you are so lucky! I gained about 35kgs during my pregnancy and those last 4 are lingering around my waist somewhere along with my not-so-flat-anymore stomach. It wouldn’t bother me all that much had it not been for me not fitting in to a lot of my clothes anymore. I used to be tiny. I could eat whatever I wanted and not gain anything, but as soon as I didn’t feel well I would loose kgs by the minute. I had the opposite problem, really. I needed some more, but couldn’t get them. So when my weight stayed at 53kgs for a long time I was happy. Then I got pregnant and sick and fell all the way down to 47 by 12 weeks. But from there…. yikes. I stopped weighing myself when I hit 80. I guess I shouldn’t complain because I’m still rather small, I just miss my wardrobe so much!

    Reply
    1. newtorontomom Post author

      I just saw your pics in your last post – I don’t know, it seems that you did lose all that baby weight if I were to compare the two pics with Anakin…

      To be fair, while I did lose all those kilograms, I didn’t get tones back. So the stomach is flat as long as I stand or lie down – but not when I sit down. For that I need exercise… Hate it.
      Like you, I never needed it – all I ever needed to do before was to cut down a bit on what I eat for dinner/in the evening.
      This doesn’t seem to be the case any longer. Sigh.

      Reply
  2. Valerie

    That’s great! You know, in the 34 week pic it looks like Timothy was lower and rose by the time 38 weeks came along, instead of dropping. Did he drop he later than 38 weeks? I have a bit to lose yet but mostly I’d just like to be toned again! I am too soft these days (though my hubby disagrees!!) I just don’t have it in me to exercise yet. Sleep deprivation + breastfeeding + teaching = tired woman. But it won’t be forever and I’ll miss his babyhood when it’s over, so I’m not complaining!! 😉

    Reply
    1. newtorontomom Post author

      well, I am soft, too – but losing the weight is already half the way there.

      As to dropping – I remember around 36 weeks my OB told me he’s dropped and then around 38 weeks she told me he’s not even engaged at all. He never dropped, really. I ended up having a c-section after 24 hours in labour.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

