Timothy’s Room

I will write a few posts about Timothy’s room – how it all came together.

We bought the house shortly after the wedding, so the spare bedroom was always meant to become a nursery. A double bed and a few loose furniture items populated it while we were waiting for that “congratulations, you’re pregnant”.

Once we got pregnant, I found a website that allows you to draw your room and plan where various standard-sized nursery items go – and we started planning the bedroom.

We decided to keep the double bed. As I had mentioned in one of my early posts, we felt that moving in with the baby is easier than keeping the baby in our bedroom and then kicking him out (scary for the baby!) – so we had to plan around this rather bulky frame…

And the window alcove – we felt we weren’t using it as much as we could. So much space wasted!

So we ended up buying a couple of nice colourful ikea wardrobes for the niche (customized – it was all my design how many doors and drawers and in which sizes should they be). I actually assembled them single-handedly while 39 weeks pregnant. No, this didn’t send me into labour. And no, my husband knew nothing about my endeavours. He was shocked when he came home (yes, I assembled them all in one day, crazy me).

The big lower drawers are meant for Timothy’s toys and the open shelves – for his books (eventually). The upper parts are really more for our use – and for Timothy’s clothes. I think they look awesome!

That’s all for now. I will continue in the next post 🙂

6 thoughts on “Timothy’s Room

  1. Valerie

    Wow, that website is amazing!! I had no idea you could do that online by just punching in the dimensions of a room! Thanks for sharing. And I like that you have cabinet/shelving in the alcove. That’s a great use of the space. 🙂

    Reply
  2. Dida Sundet

    I had a thing for assembling Ikea furniture when I was pregnant too! I did shelves, a kitchen bench trolley and the cot. Love the wardrobes, and that website is pure genius!

    Reply
    1. newtorontomom Post author

      yeah, I also assembled some shelving units for the closet in Timothy’s bedroom – while pregnant 🙂 They call it nesting – all the craze we get setting the room 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

