Little Clutch – NOT!

Sometimes you don’t know just how good you have it.

The other day we were at a playdate where I encountered some very strong clutching fists. They were clutching onto Timothy’s sweater at first, and then onto my hair. And they were nearly impossible to un-clutch!

I never had this problem with Timothy. If he pulls my hair, a lightly tap on his fist and he lets go, no fuss. I can wear earrings (Timothy has zero interest in them) and necklaces (Timothy might grab – but lets go easily).

Eye-opening!

14 thoughts on “Little Clutch – NOT!

  1. Anna

    One day, I came in a phone cabin with a baby in arms. Coming out of the phone cabin man with long and curly hair. The man is stuck. Why? I tried to return the battle trophy)

    Reply
  2. Valerie

    It’s funny what interests some babies/toddlers and not others. My older boy, Joshua would wear a hat 24/7 but Samuel will not even for a second!! He snatches it off! He leaves my earrings alone, though. Joshua would tug on my hair, and Sam doesn’t. Who knows why they do what they do!!

    Reply
    1. newtorontomom Post author

      I have a theory about hats. I think if babies start consistently wearing hats when they are too young to even know they don’t like it – they’ll not mind later, either. So Timothy started wearing a panama hat when he was about 4 months old – and he doesn’t mind it at all. Kids that were a bit older by the time summer came – hate the hats!

      Reply
            1. BleedingTulip

              We plan to start our kiddo in hats from a super early age for this very reason! (Plus, I think hats on babies are ADORABLE, so she will have quite the collection of hats for every season 🙂 )

              Reply
  3. theonethatlovesyou

    Fernando has a strong clutch and fists 🙂 He punches DH badly and pulls his hair (he also has a long hair) with me he is a little bit more gentle but still pulls my hair, need to have my hair tide up in a ponytail. Also he pinches and squeezes very hard, my arms are full of small bruises…a little Herkules baby lol.

    Reply
    1. newtorontomom Post author

      Timothy does pull my hair, too – he just doesn’t clutch to it. He lets go easily. And anyway he doesn’t pull it intentionally.
      Timothy used to pinch my upper arms while nursing – OUCH! Thankfully, he stopped…

      Reply
  4. BleedingTulip

    It is interesting, what parents get used to as “normal” for them, with their kids, and then when exposed to different kids, there is always the wondering of nature/nurture…. How much is how we’ve reacted to things, or allowed some things, or encouraged other things, and how much is just their own personality? It’s a fascinating mystery 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

