Bittersweet Moments

Sorry for being so quiet – we were away for 10 days, celebrating Christmas and New Year with the family.

Just before leaving, I received an email from soon to be Timothy’s daycare. It left me somewhat shocked. “Transition period…three days before the first daycare day…starting on…please bring…”

What?? Is there less than 1.5 months left???

As I write these words, there’s less than a month left. A year ago, maternity leave seemed vast and endless. I have never not worked for a whole year (not that I’d call motherhood “not working” :)) And now… now it’s almost over.

How sad.

We went to our early years program this morning. I was confused enough to arrive so late that we only got to spend half an hour there. This was Timothy’s first time there as a crawler – and he loved this new experience! He crawled around, played with all the new toys, looked excitedly at all the babies – and moms – around him, clapped hands, and laughed a lot. Such a sweet little darling.

My heart sang watching him. My heart ached watching him. All too vividly I was able to imagine him in daycare, crawling around the room, with other babies, clapping hands… and me not being there to see him grow. Maybe even miss his first steps…

I am fairly certain he’ll love daycare. He’s an independent, confident, strong little guy. He has an occasional clinging bout, but all in all – ever since he figured out crawling – he’s become so self-sufficient. And so happy about it.

I am proud of him. I am sad. Such a huge chapter is coming to an end. My baby is getting near to becoming a toddler. So bittersweet.

I love you Timothy. I hope you’ll love daycare.

This is not a today's picture - this is Timothy with his cousins; but it fits the content well enough :)

This is not a today’s picture – this is Timothy with his cousins; but it fits the content well enough šŸ™‚

8 thoughts on “Bittersweet Moments

  1. Dida Sundet

    Time passes too quickly. I feel for you! We’re not sending Anakin to daycare anytime soon, but I sure am feeling the pressure since I’m supposed to be working full-time at home while watching him and am getting no work whatsoever done.

    Reply
    1. newtorontomom Post author

      Oy, I took a short three-week consulting project and I was EXHAUSTED by the end of it. Because the only time I could work is after Timothy is tucked in bed – which is after 7 pm, plus dinner. Doing postdoctorate – which, I assume, is much longer than three weeks šŸ™‚ seems next to impossible!!!

      Reply
  2. Mrs FF

    Time really does fly. It really is bittersweet! On the one hand we want them to grow and grow but also sometimes wish we could keep them babies forever šŸ™‚

    Reply
    1. newtorontomom Post author

      And on the other (third? šŸ™‚ ) hand if they stayed the same we probably would get bored with them, haha

      just kidding… but I do think that their constant development is very precious to us, dull grownups!

      Reply
  3. babiesandus

    Ah I feel for you! I can’t imagin it. Even though I am working already, I work from home so Kyra is never far away. But I just can’t picture her being to far away from me.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

