Walking, understanding speech

Timothy took his first steps today.

Well, two days ago he took one mini-step before he decided to drop to his knees – not so much a step as a small movement with one foot.

Today – he actually walked. A very short distance – from under my desk towards the couch (where I was). His hand got stuck in the laptop cord, but he still remained upright. He made a few steps! Tiny, funny steps. More like a shuffle 🙂

And overall Timothy seems to have broken through the language barrier all of a sudden. He understands certain words and phrases now! Like when I ask him to clap his hands. Or ask him where the switch is. Or ask him how he strokes his panda (we got him a GIANT panda as a bday present). Or today in the bathtub I repeatedly asked him not to stand up, gently getting him to sit down – and then I decided to simply ask him, without urging him to sit down by touch. He understood! He sat down and he was really proud of himself 🙂 We repeated this a few more times.

And this couldn’t be daycare influence. They speak English there – at home we speak Russian with Timothy.

He’s growing up…

???????????????????????????????

8 thoughts on “Walking, understanding speech

  1. BleedingTulip

    How exciting! What big accomplishments 😀

    And I can’t get over how much I wish I spoke Russian *sigh* such a beautiful language! And to raise a child bilingually! There are some women at our church who speak Russian, but they’re really shy and speak very broken English, and I am really shy and speak no Russian, but I still hope to someday be friends – if only in the hopes they would speak Russuan around Seedling! Lol.

    Reply
    1. Tanya Littleberry

      I bet they think you’re just trying to be nice for the sake of being nice. They might stop being so shy if they believe you are truly interested in their language/culture and aren’t just being nice in the way most foreigners are. I have to admit, I get a bit frustrated when random people start sharing their whole Russian vocabulary with me upon hearing I am Russian. I dunno, I just don’t find that amusing at all. Most Russians don’t 🙂

      Reply
  2. Jay Dee

    Great to see first steps! I think our kids are reversed. Tomoe was a bit faster at learning to walk, while Timothy seems to be faster at understanding language.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

