Ear Infection Numero Tres

And so it’s yet another ear infection.

IMG_3944

I got really scared when Timothy woke me up at 4 am and he was scorching hot, pj’s soaking wet. He had a 39.7 (104.4) fever. I gave him advil and couldn’t go back to sleep until I made sure his fever started to fade away.

Walk-in clinic first thing in the morning – yep, another ear infection. Third one. He got one in February, one in March – now one in April. Something to do with his anatomy – the way his ear canals are built. His cousin actually had the same problem at first, then he grew out of it. Hopefully, Timothy will too – and won’t need tubes.

Timothy has spent the past 3 days pretty much plastered on to me. He even takes some of his naps on me (and he’s been taking 3 naps a day). He is quiet. He is happy to just sit in my arms. And as much as I feel sad, sorry and worried, I have to admit a part of me enjoys the closeness, especially since I lost milk and stopped nursing him 2 weeks ago. A part of me melts with tenderness and love. A part of me soaks in the cuddles.

We watch movies together – musicals, cause they’re colourful, have lots of movement and singing… Timothy enjoys it. I read to him. He drinks a LOT.

Oh, and it turns out advil’s dosage on the packaging is waaay off. That’s why it didn’t help much with Timothy’s fever. it says to administer 1.4 ml until the age of 2 – the doctor said that based on Timothy weight, we should be giving him 2.5-3 ml! That’s two times more! And now it actually does help, Timothy was much more lively this afternoon.

I hope he gets well, soon. My poor baby 😦

4 thoughts on “Ear Infection Numero Tres

  1. St. Elsewhere

    Oh poor Timothy…I hope he is cured soon.

    I would love for Figlia to be all snuggly too, but when she is sick, it is more whine than the cling, and whining sucks.

    BTW, my doc always tells me to calculate dosage on basis of body weight.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

